Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-11-16 - 1:19 a.m.

Drink of the Day: Bloody Mary

2 oz. vodka, 3 oz. tomato juice, 1 tsp. lime juice, 3 dashes Tabasco sauce, 3-4 dashes Worcestershire sauce, 1/2 tsp. creamy horseradish, 1 tsp Olive juice, 1 pinch Celery salt , 1 pinch White Cayenne Pepper, Dash Paprika, Dash of Salt, Celery Stalk or Olive as garnish.

Combine vodka, tomato juice, lime juice, Tabasco, Worcestershire, horseradish, olive juice, paprika, celery salt, salt and pepper in a mixing glass. Shake or stir. Pour mixture into highball glass over ice. Garnish with celery and/or olive.

Makes 1 serving.

MORE PROOF THAT NO GOOD DEED SHALL GO UNPUNISHED.

New York Blood Services called me the other night. "Ethel," they say (they like to call you by your first name to prove that they are friendly and appreciative). "Ethel, we just wanted to thank you for your last platelet donation and let you know that your gift has saved countless lives of burn victims, cancer patients and other compromised individuals." (They say this to make you feel good about yourself and to make you more amenable to their next request.) "Ethel, right now we are facing a shortage of platelets and we hope that you can help. " (an appeal to your increased ego) "So Ethel can we make an appointment for your next donation?" (The catch, they know they've got the hook in your mouth and you're just dangling)

"Uh, okay" I mean, I do like to give blood. It makes me feel good to help and how else can you lose a pound and still eat Lorna Doones?

So I made an appointment and went after work today to give blood only to find out that due to my recent Mexican Holiday my blood is no longer desirable. Turns out that Oaxaca Mexico is at risk for malaria. The volunteer looked it up in this giant book and then wrote on my forms "Next Donation: November 5, 2003" He handed it to me and said, "Well thanks for trying" but in that lame its (not really) the thought that counts/we're disappointed in you - voice. I felt so unclean.

It was even worse than the time they asked the standard question "Have you ever had sex with a man who has had sex with another man for drugs or money?" and I said, "God I hope not!" I found that they are not big on the jokes there. Nor do they want anything more elaborate than Yes or NO. Once I had answered, "Not to the best of my knowledge" and the guy actually said, "That is not an acceptable answer."

Okay, I get it. There's only two boxes there, Yes or No. But really I was being sincere. I mean, how many people do you think would be so forthcoming with such relationship damaging info? Particularly if you were in a new relationship.

Picture going on a date and asking the usual questions like, "So what do you do for a living?" and someone answers, "Well I used to be a gay male prostitute but now that I've gotten off heroin I'm thinking of switching to teaching." Chances of a second date: Not likely. Then by the time that you've actually gotten into a serious relationship the guy knows that if he tells you now....well you probably would get a little bit upset. So why rock the boat. Most people are content to leave their pasts right where they are, especially if it puts them in an unfavorable light.

Anyway to get back on point, I realize that I had no reason to feel unclean. I didn't do anything wrong; I took vacation. But still it feels weird to be banned from further blood donations until November 2003. Don't get me wrong, I'm all for doing whatever is best for the recipients of my blood. They are, after all, what its all about. BUT A YEAR?! That seems excessive. I mean what is the incubation period for malaria anyway? When I asked this, the volunteer who was turning me away said, "No, its not that long but they are being extra careful."

Alrighty then. Well, so long as I'm banned anyway maybe I'll pierce something or get another tattoo, take up needle drugs or something.

Disclaimer: The needle drug thing was a joke, Mom.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!