Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2005-06-26 - 10:30 a.m.

My apologies to the diaryland community for not updating sooner. Its not that I don't want to update, it just seems like diaryland has lost some of its appeal for me as of late.

I've been considering jumping ship and going to another site but I just haven't had the time to research them. In fact, I haven't had a lot of free time at all.

I started my Summer graduate classes a couple of weeks ago - 4 hours a day X 2 days a week = 1 unhappy Ethel!

On the upside, I've only got two more days of work, if you can call it that - I haven't been doing much "work" there. We've been proctoring Regents and RCTs which essentially means I've been sitting on my butt in front of the classroom while students sweat out their exams.

AND BIG NEWS! I bought a car! And not just any car - A BRAND NEW CAR! Can I get a WOO HOO?!

The last time someone in my family bought a brand new car the year was 1973 and the car in question was a Volkswagon Beetle. (An interesting side note, my parents bought the Bug even though they had three small children already - perhaps they thought that, like goldfish, if they kept us in a confined space we would not grow bigger than our environment allowed. They were wrong of course.)

In any case, I bought a lovely new car which you can see here Can you tell what kind of car it is? I'll send a prize to the first person who can correctly identify it.

I needed the new car to facilitate our vacation plans - to DRIVE CROSS COUNTRY! I'm soooo excited. I can't wait for August. (Okay, August is not the ideal time for such a jaunt but I'm a teacher so its the best I got) I will be updating more frequently to let you know more about my upcoming adventure.

So far our plans are to drive through the south (Asheville, NC; Smoky Mtns, TN; Memphis, TN; San Antonio, TX; Roswell, NM; Grand Canyon; Las Vegas; Los Angeles) then up the coast of California to Seattle to visit her, then across the north (Yellowstone; Devil's Tower; Mount Rushmore; Mall of America; Chicago) and home again!

If anyone wants to be on my postcard mailing list please leave me a note or an email so I can get your particulars.

PS: For her my 6 current fave songs are good road songs. They are(in no particular order)

1. East bound and Down (Jerry Reed)

2. Maybelline (Hoyt Axton)

3. Hypo Full of Love (A3)

4. I've been everywhere (Johnny Cash)

5. Country Roads (Denver)

6. Don't Think Twice (Dylan, as well as the remake by Mike Ness)

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!