Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2005-05-15 - 5:01 p.m.

Its probably blasphemy to say this here but here goes...

I HATE computers!

There I said it.

"Why?" You ask. "What could inspire such strong sentiments against something that has such positive applications in our life?"

Well, I'll tell you. I worked all day Saturday (in spite of the beautiful weather that called me to come out and play) on a paper for my graduate class that is due on Tuesday.

6 full hours of dedicated hard-work that nearly burned my retinas out. I made sure to save after every page. I perfected my format, my font, my bullets. It was beautiful. It was nearly complete.

I needed to add some website addresses in but had to restart because my wireless connection wasn't working.

I restarted and got the internet working BUT my document was gone. GONE. Gone gone, not just hiding, not in some obscure file.

It was as if it had never existed! The name was there in my recent documents file but the alias pathway was invalid because the original document did not exist.

All my work. All those hours. All my painstaking attention.

Nothing to show for it.

I know, you are all thinking, it had to be there somewhere. Only it wasn't.

Turns out I made a very stupid mistake. See I opened the template from an email in outlook express. Even though I was working in MSWord, because I opened directly from the email instead of downloading and opened from the hard drive, in spite of my nearly maniacal saving, the document never truly existed on my hard drive. When I restarted...

Poof! It was gone.

I sat in shock staring at my computer and crying, "Why?! Why?!"

I actually had to take a tranquilizer I was hyperventillating so badly. I was hysterical. I threatened to throw it out the window but the computer wasn't budging. I swear it was mocking me with its lily white innocence.

So then I had to spend all day Sunday trying to re-write it all but I was still dopey from the tranquilizer so I fell asleep at 8:30pm.

I emailed my professor - since it was her template I was using - hoping that she would give me a day or two extension but so far she hasn't answered me.

So, now I'm home from work trying to finish it up.

The computer and I have reconciled for now but I still don't trust it. I now have about 5 different back up copies of this paper going now. . . which is confusing in its own way.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!