Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2005-05-12 - 4:10 p.m.

Another day in the life of a special ed teacher...

Today I was informed that one of my students has been calling me "mad racist" to other students.

ME!

I try so hard to promote acceptance of everyone and to stop all the petty name calling.

I figure that the kid is saying this out of anger because he failed (Hello!? you missed 15 out of the 25 class days - did you really expect to pass?)

So I confront him - gently. I say, "Someone overheard you saying that I was a 'mad racist' would you care to discuss this?"

"Oh no, Miss, I didn't say that!" he tells me.

"Really, because I have it on good authority that you did. It was a teacher who heard you say it."

"No, Miss, it wasn't me. It was the kid I was with."

"Really, and what kid was this?"

He names a kid who happens to be white and also happened to pass my class. Methinks that he's passing the buck.

"Well, then..." I say, "I'll have to discuss this with him as well and I'll let him know what you told me."

"..." The kid stares at me dumbfounded like he wants to say something, anything so I won't tell the friend that he accused him but can't think of anything else to say.

Yep, my work is done.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!