Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2005-04-11 - 5:47 p.m.

I got really excited when I read this in the Herald Sun recently

"THE son of a Nigerian tribal chieftain has emerged as the people's favourite to succeed Pope John Paul II.

With thousands of bets already placed, Nigeria's Francis Arinze yesterday became the top tip to become the next pope at 11-4, with international bookmakers.

The 73-year-old, who was born in a mud hut and spent his early years worshipping the Ibo deities before converting to Catholicism, would be the first black pope since Saint Gelasius I in 496. "

#1 I am so happy to hear that a black man is in serious contention. I think it would be awesome if he gets elected!

#2 I am shocked to find out that this would NOT be the FIRST black pope! WHO KNEW?!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!