Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2005-03-07 - 6:01 p.m.

I was listening to the radio yesterday (Yeah, I don't know why either) and I heard a promo for a new reality TV show. Guess what the premise is... Get ready.

INTERVENTION!!!!

Yes, that's right. They are going to be televising drug and alcohol interventions. Some drug addled schmuck is going to come home one night to find his/her family there to stage an intervention to "save" him/her from self-destruction because they "care so much" about this person... And they are showing how much they "care" by airing this person's dirty laundry on national TV.

Because they CARE! Its philanthropy, right? AAAAAaargh! This shite just eats me up! Maybe my Sunday School teacher was right: TV is the devil!

What's next? What other painful moment can we exploit for entertainment and profit? Is there really no lower that we can sink?

Shall we start televising car accidents - oh wait, we already do that. People getting arrested - Oh yeah, its been done. Televising break ups - oops, done that too. I know, maybe we could film people at the Vet when their beloved family pet has to be put to sleep. Or better still puppies and kittens getting hit by cars...Or, we can put cameras in psych wards and we can televise them receiving electroshock treatments.


Oh, and I forgot the best part! Do you know who is putting out this monstrosity? A&E! Arts & Entertainment! Where is the Art or Entertainment in a drug intervention?! If there is a God I hope he/she smites them! If not, I hope they get the pants sued off them!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!