Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2005-02-19 - 2:23 p.m.

Well, I'm off for the next week so naturally I've come down with the flu.

Blech.

My friend offered me some of her codeine-laced cough medicine (AKA elixer of the gods) and I have many books and hours of bad TV to still look forward to so that's some consolation. Naturally, I'll get better just in time to go back to work. Double blech. . .

But let me not squander my precious time off complaining. Instead I shall wax poetic on the delights of President's day and the insanity of the Northeast school system that deems it necessary for us to have a week off to celebrate it. Back in the days of my own scholastic endeavors it was called "Energy conservation week" and it didn't necessarily coincide with President's day - possibly because we didn't have President's day but rather Washington's birthday and Lincoln's birthday. I'm not really sure what energy conservation had to do with it all - I'm sure that the energy conserved by not having us there was negligible - but it was all good - then and now.

Its all good. Even if I spend it fighting the plague, hacking up a lung.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!