Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2005-02-16 - 6:40 p.m.

Today, in response to my query about an absence note, one of my students told me in great detail about why he wasn't in class yesterday.

Apparently he had gone out with his girlfriend for Valentine's day and then stayed over her house because her parents were out of town. They overslept.

I'm always at a loss as to the proper response to things like this. I'm not his mother. I'm not even his guidance counselor. I'm his English teacher.

But as a responsible adult am I supposed to do something? I don't want to break confidences but the kid is only a freshman. He's looks to be around 15.

Is there really anything to be done about this? Am I really morally opposed to this? I don't know. Maybe. Maybe not.

So in the end I say something to the effect of "Uh huh...So, in other words, you don't have an absence note for yesterday."

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!