Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-12-02 - 10:42 p.m.

Have I mentioned my mentors before?

As a new teacher I am assigned a mentor by the NYC Dept of Education. She's a very nice woman who has been very helpful and goes above and beyond the call of duty

Case in point - she is going to give me the name of a good cleaning lady because I complained that I have no time to clean my house.

As a graduate student and NYC Teaching Fellow I am assigned a different mentor who is supposed to work with me with respect to my graduate studies and/or teaching issues.

HE is a weird, positively strange, fellow. Case in point, he never calls me to make an appointment - he simply shows up at my job and chats me up for a quarter to half an hour.

Point 2 - he never talks to me about any topic related to what I am talking about. I say, "I'm not really thrilled with my grad classes" and he says, "That reminds me of this time that a kid came to school with a live grenade and we had to call the police and then sent the SWAT team to my school."

Huh? MY graduate classes reminded you of that? Uh...okay.

I'm supposed to be having a joint meeting with both of them next week. That should be interesting.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!