Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-09-13 - 6:07 p.m.

Today was the first real day of school. A sea of humanity stood between me and my goal of reporting for my first day of work in my new job as teacher.

I managed to swim upstream and into the building where more chaos was there to greet me.

I couldn't find my attendance sheets - then when I finally did - I found that my homeroom was comprised of foreign names filled with X's Q's and Z's in combinations I couldn't even begin to pronounce.

My poor homeroom class (which is in the loud and crowded auditorium) kept asking me questions that I couldn't answer - like where is the cafeteria, the girls gym, room 823 - or why don't I have lunch on my schedule - or I have only one class on my schedule where do I go for the rest of the day?

I couldn't hear the bell over the deafening din of the auditorium so I dismissed my class late -

Which also means that I was late for my first period class, sophomore english.

Two kids showed up for that class, one boy and one girl. The girl busted my chops for about 15 minutes and then walked out of my class in a huff.

Nobody at all showed up for my second period class!

I switched rooms for my 7th period class - only to find another teacher (and his class) also scheduled there. Only one boy showed up for that class - and by the time we figured out where we supposed to be half the period was over.

He was a nice kid but he just would not do the Do Now that I had put up on the board.

Three boys showed up for my double period math block - they're freshman so they probably aren't used to cutting class yet.

Then I stuck my foot in my mouth and put myself in the middle of a hostile situation between two teachers.

Why oh why?! When will I learn to keep my trap shut?!

After school I went to Staples and locked my keys in my trunk. I had to get the fire dept. to help me unlock it.

Now I'm in my pajamas and seriously considering going to bed already - but that will just make tomorrow come faster so I'm resisting the urge.

I have Grad school classes tomorrow night and I haven't done the reading because the book I ordered hasn't arrived yet.

Deep breaths. 1 day down, 179 to go.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!