Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-09-01 - 5:26 p.m.

When B and I checked in at the Lizzie Borden B&B, we were the first to arrive.

We were showed up to our suite, formerly Lizzie's room plus her sister Emma's room. Usually its reserved by families, they told me. Hmm, I hadn't really thought about this as a family vacation spot.

Look kids, this is where Lizzie whacked her stepmother in the head with an axe! Say cheese.

The furniture was gorgeous and the bed looked quite inviting, but since we were starving we dropped our bags and went to a nearby Portuguese restaurant for a late lunch/early dinner.

Over a sumptious meal, we ruminated on what the other guests at the B&B would be like. Would they be young, old, our age? Who else, besides us, would be interested in staying in a house where a double homicide took place over a hundred years ago?

We got back to the house stuffed and sleepy so we headed up to our room to relax. I was lying down on the chaise lounge and B was in the bed when our question was answered by a knock on the door.

A young couple staying in the room next to ours (the "murder" room) wanted to check out our room. Slightly stunned, I let them in.

Mind you, there was a tour of the whole house scheduled for 8:30 that evening, but they just wanted to take a peek they said.

The woman, girl - really, came in and took a bunch of photos while the young man talked to us.

"Do you believe in ghosts?" he asked me. Then he proceeded to tell us about his "ghost experience" about an hour ago - when the door to our room mysteriously closed on its own!

I, of course, was more concerned about why the door had been open but I hadn't left anything of value in the room anyway so I just let that go.

He kept saying that he was glad that he wasn't staying in our room.

Um...yeah, me too. In fact, you can leave now, was what I was thinking. Run along to your room - where an actual murder took place - and leave me in peace.

Eventually the couple left us in peace and we could relax a bit before the big tour...which I'll tell you about tomorrow.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!