Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-07-30 - 5:53 p.m.

Sometimes the world becomes smaller and life shines a little levity on your darker days.

Such is the case with the situation I described in my previous entry.

Over a year ago, in a moment of picque, I wrote an entry where I named �the other woman� who, I thought, had wrecked my relationship with an ex.

It had happened years ago, but I had harbored this resentment towards her that should have been fully directed at him.

But, had I done that then I probably would have had to face my own bad choices in men � and no one wants to do that!

In the last 24 hours or so, I�ve come into contact with said �other woman� and gotten to hear the other side of the story.

I�d like to say that I was shocked but now that I think about P (the ex) I�m not really all that surprised.

P and I lived together for two years. We broke up once during that time � or I should say that I broke up with him, grabbed a bag of my stuff and went to stay at my mom�s.

We reconciled about two days later (read: we were sleeping together again) but I didn�t move back in for another two or three weeks because I was having some family issues and P was going out of town for a gig.

Much later on, I found out that he had gotten together with this other woman (with amazing speed, no?) and simply continued seeing her after we reconciled.

I guess he thought he had found some kind of safety loop out of the fidelity clause. I even found out that she was there at the out of town gig.

Naively, I allowed him to convince me that all of this was my fault because I broke up with him � for two whole days.

P told me after I found out about her that he was so hurt when I broke up with him that he had gotten together with her to hurt me but that it had just been a one time thing.

Desperately, I believed him. Silly rabbit!

Now I found out that this girl had been forced to hide in my closet one night when I came over.

I don�t know how much she had heard but she said that she heard me crying. As I said, I was in a messed up state of mind.

Mind you, P is the son-of-a-bitch who got angry with me when I wouldn�t have sex with him in the parking lot of the funeral home during my six year old cousin�s wake. Which, coincidentally, was one of the reasons we broke up.

I�m sure you can see what catch he was!

Having heard her side of the story I now fully understand how he played us both against the middle and I find that my feelings towards her have softened, and become friendly even.

I�m glad that this reckoning happened and that we each got to hear the other�s side. I found myself even laughing a little when I read her account.

I�m happier still that we�ve both moved on from that train wreck and found happiness with ourselves and with good guys.

And that concludes this edition of truth is stranger than fiction.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!