Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-06-30 - 8:52 a.m.

Its 8:52 and I'm supposed to be in "Professional Development" but I blew it off to go on a job interview.

Okay, I didn't exactly blow it off - I scheduled the job interview an hour earlier but it ran longer than expected and I figured since I'm already so late why bother going at all. Especially since I have to leave early at 12:00 anyway.

So this gives me a little bit of time to tell you all my news...

I was hired.

Its a nice school - not far from where I live.

The problem...

This is the school that wanted me to teach literacy but Big Brother said that I couldn't. So I had emailed them and told them that I couldn't teach literacy because they considered it English. I gave them a contact person to call for more details if they wanted to try and argue their case.

The school called me back and said, "We've worked it out" So I went in this morning and signed a commitment.

But...

It turns out that they didn't actually work anything out - they just told me, "don't worry about that. Once you are in the school it'll all be worked out."

So...

Should I be happy? I am, sort of.

But mostly I'm just wondering if I've just made a huge mistake in signing the commitment.

Especially since there was this other school (not the best school - its had some violence issues between students) that was willing to give me exactly the kind of position that the fellows said that I could take.

Now, what do I tell the other school?

The AP at Good School that Signed Me told me, "Don't tell them anything. Wait until the end of August to make sure everything goes through."

I guess its possible that if I just avoid any phone calls today (since the schools are closing today and most Principals will be going on vacation for at least a few weeks) that its possible to get away with that scenario.

Is that cowardly or astute? A little of both, I guess.

Well, gotta hit the books - I've got a midterm on Tuesday.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!