Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-06-25 - 10:25 a.m.

Just this morning I spoke with the Assistant Principal at a High School. He was offering me a position teaching literacy.

It had been my understanding that literacy, being a reading skills subject, would be acceptable as it would be like a "pull-out" or SETTS position.

Previously when I had called the Fellows program about the position another school had offered me teaching Literacy and English, I had been told that literacy was acceptable but that English was not.

However, when I called 877- NY Fellow to confirm the acceptability of teaching literacy I was told that it is NOT acceptable. I don't understand what could be considered more general than literacy.

I feel so disheartened and frustrated I could spit. Or cry, which I've already done this morning.

Had I known that I would have to turn down so many wonderful positions (3 so far) as a result of the secondary certificate, I would have never appealed to change my original assignment from elementary.

Had I known that I could realistically only teach middle school I would have taken the position that had been offered me at my cousin's school.

I feel as though I wasted not only my own time but that of the Principals and Assistant Principals who have been waiting for the okay to hire me.

On top of this, there's another situation that is disgusting to me.

I have to pass two exams, the LAST and the Multi-CST, before the fall semester.

I took the first about one month ago and I'm taking the second tomorrow.

However, I won't get my scores from the LAST until after 5 PM tonight. The next administration of these exams is on July 17th. I won't find out if I passed tomorrow's exam until 5 PM the night before that exam is given.

Since I don't know for sure if I passed the exam before July 17th, my only recourse is to register to take the exam again - just in case.

But because it is already passed the normal registration period, I would have to pay double the amount ($140) "Just in case" - None of which will be refunded if it turns out that I did indeed pass.

I'm so digusted, disheartened and frustrated! I feel as though I want to chuck it all.

But since I've already quit my job and I don't get my first part of my summer stipend until July 7th, I might as well stick it out for the summer training.

You know, when they say something is too good to be true...

I mean, I'm not even getting my Master's degree fully paid for - I'm contributing $1000/semester which is nearly half my tuition at CUNY, and I've already paid $200 for books for my first two classes.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!