Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-06-24 - 10:01 p.m.

I should have just stuck with elementary special education. I could deal with crayons and story time, snack time and milk.

But no, I decided I wanted to teach High School, where I could really make a difference.

Either would have been fine, really. Just not middle school.

But now I'm stuck. I can't get out of it - unless I want to forfeit my spot in the whole damn program.

I appealed to have my assignment changed to secondary ed so that I could teach High school.

Now I'm bound to that designation but it looks less and less likely that I will be able to teach high school.

This is what I've been informed:

"She is going to receive teh [SIC] "generalist" Sp Ed certificate. This will allow her to teach in a JHS, MS, or HS setting. She is more likely to get a correct position in a middle school or a high school.

The information she's gotten from the Fellows' office is correct.

She can only teach Sp Ed kids in a self-contained room (ie, when one teachers teaches a group of kids all, or most, subjects), Alternately, she can be the "pull-out" or "resource room" teacher in a middle, junior, or high school.

[Allow me to interject here that not one high school that I know of employs teachers that teach "all or most" of the subjects. . . And those resource room positions are highly coveted spots that are next to impossible to get unless you have seniority]

"She cannot be a "Sp Ed math" teacher or a "Sp Ed social studies teacher" or a "Sp Ed English/Literacy" teacher. When speaking to principals, she should say that she will have a "secondary genralist Sp Ed certificate." This may help. But agaian [SIC], she is not likely to find the kind of position she is allowed to take in a high school. "

Bottom line: Sucks to be me

OR

Middle school hell, here I come.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!