Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-06-09 - 8:10 a.m.

Tomorrow is my last day at my job ending three years and four months of service.

More than that, its the last day I'll be working in Manhattan. I have been braving the crowds and crush of the daily commute since 1995 and I can't say I'll miss it much.

Even more than this, tomorrow will mark my last day working in the field of medicine. I've been working for doctors since the age of 19 (I'm 32 now). In fact, the last job I had that didn't involve medicine (aside from antacids) was flipping hot dogs at Nathan's.

There are certain things I will miss from the medical field.

Working for a doctor means that if you are sick on the job you always have immediate access to healthcare. Many bouts of bronchitis were treated by my bosses in the past. Plus, many of them were quite reasonable when it came to the use of sick days.

I'll miss the free medical advice. I was able to get far more information about both of my parent's bouts with cancer and my grandfathers heart condition through my boss.

I even referred my Mom to the gynecologist I had been working for. So, when she needed surgery, I was always informed of what was going on and I was able to be with her in the recovery room much sooner.

I also learned a tremendous amount working for doctors. I've worked in so many different fields, Radiology, Urology, Hematology, Obstetrics & Gynecology, Physical medicine and Pain management, and Psychiatry. A veritable residency rotation schedule. I'll miss being in the know and having access to so much information.

I'll also miss the free samples. There were quite a few years that I never had to fill an Rx for birth control pills. Even last month, when I lost my pack of pills I was able to get a sample pack from my boss' husband. And once I got a six month supply of my allergy medication.

Ah...those were the days.

The field of Medicine has been such a part of my life that its strange to imagine myself outside of it...but I can stop imagining because its about to happen.

Its the end of an era, and the dawn of a new age.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!