Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-06-07 - 6:38 a.m.

Once upon a time I was a registered republican. Even before that, long before I could vote, I debated in favor of former President Reagan's re-election.

As I got older and gained certain knowledge and wisdom, I eschewed the political leanings of my 8th grade self.

Although the Iran Contra affair (among other things) forever altered my view of him, I have to admit to a certain feeling akin to sadness at the passing of Ronald Reagan.

At his best, he was an excellent orator deserving of his moniker, "The Great Communicator" and a charismatic man.

Although I disagree with his past policies and views, I could still feel more pride in his presidency than in our current figurehead. . . and as former actors turned politicians go, I'd take him over Schwarzenegger anyday.

And so, I raise a glass to the memory of RR, may he rest in peace.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!