Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-05-28 - 10:17 a.m.

I've been taken down a peg...rightfully so.

I had an interview yesterday with an elementary school and with my recent successes lifting my head high I waltzed in there thinking, "How can I best hold them off if they offer me a job."

Since I've decided that I'd prefer to teach in a high school I wasn't stressing at all about this interview that I was keeping just because I felt I should continue to check out all my options.

So I clearly wasn't prepared when the principal, a very nice and clearly capable woman, told me that she wished me the best of luck but she couldn't see fit to hiring me at this time since I had no experience or training and she felt it unwise to take such a chance without some proof of my skills.

She was very nice about it, and she said that she was sorry that she had misunderstood my cover letter and thought that I had completed the fellowship program - not that I was newly entering into it.

I understand her perspective completely. I saw the file folder on her desk at least an inch thick full of resumes.

Although I was very lucky to be assigned to region 7 - which is comprised of all relatively good neighborhoods - the fact is that I'm no longer applying for jobs at "hard to staff" schools in poor areas where there is more positions available than there are applicants.

Now I'm competing against seasoned teachers rather than just other teaching fellows.

It was a well needed reminder.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!