Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-03-26 - 6:54 p.m.

Hey Cats and Kittens!

Sorry I've been so incommunicado this week. I've been preparing for my big interview with the NYC Teaching Fellowship.

That's right, the folks that rejected me last year. Gluttony, my sin du jour, Punishment, the special of the day!

Tomorrow is the interview - and I'm being far more cautious about my chances this time around. Frankly, I'm anticipating not getting it because only 1 out of 7 do get accepted...but I figured, "What the hey! I haven't been getting slapped around nearly enough these days"

I am taking my preparations far more seriously. I took the day off from work to refine and practice my 5 minute lesson plan (which I now hate) and my good friend E is coming over tonight to help me go over possible interview questions.

In a side story yesterday at lunch, E was telling her coworker of our plans to "Play School" tonight and of our recent shopping trip to find the requisite interview outfit, when she noticed that the temp who was sitting with them was agape.

When asked what was the matter the temp scraped her jaw off the floor to say that she too was scheduled to interview on Saturday and she hadn't done a blessed thing yet to prepare.

As of today she has dropped out of the running. I feel really bad but I'm also kind of shocked that she was just going to wing it. I mean I really wasn't prepared enough last year either but I still spent at least a week preparing my lesson plan.

Well, one down, five more to go (if the one in seven statistic holds true).

I think that I've improved my chances somewhat just by saying that I am willing to teach Special Education. My friend J warned me not to but I realized that I shouldn't let her opinion deter me from taking a chance on a field that I might truly enjoy.

Well, gotta get back to my prep work... See you all on the flip side!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!