Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-02-24 - 9:44 p.m.

I've taken the day off from work tomorrow to commemorate what would have been my father's 64th birthday along with the anniversary of his death (he died on the 26th).

The last few years I've been trying to do something special with my Mom on this day but I wanted to do a little more this year because its the tenth year since he's been gone - and because I may not be around here next year.

Ten years...where has the time gone? I go through a lot of intropection around this time of year and I've come up with a list of things my father hasn't been around to see...

One public reading of one of my stories (where I almost fainted)

Two college graduations (Associate's and Bachelor's)

Three boyfriends

Four apartments

Five jobs

Six marriages (no, not by me, who do you think I am Liz Taylor/J-Lo!)

Seven vacations not including

Eight weeks at the summer house I rented upstate (which he would have loved)

Nine babies being born (to other relatives - not to me! What am I a dog? That's a litter full!)

Ten birthdays, ten christmases, ten new year's, ten years (or 5,256,000 minutes) of missing him.

I had been planning on doing something grander this year but I guess I just didn't get the word out with enough time because no one else is able to make it. Oh well, failure to plan means your plan will fail....

In any case, my mom and I are going to the cemetary (my first time in years - I'm not big on that tradition) then we'll bowl a few frames and have lunch together.

Maybe we'll even check out what all the hub bub is about with The Passion of Christ. My dad was pretty religous in his non-preachy way so I think he wouldn't mind.

I'm not much into organized religion and I'm not sure what I believe really in terms of God but I like to think that if heaven does exist my Dad's in the VIP section, and if there is no heaven then I know he's still alive in my heart.

Happy birthday, Dad, wherever you are!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!