Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-02-13 - 8:43 a.m.

Have you seen this news story: French bride weds dead boyfriend ?

Isn't that taking the desire to be married a little to far? Certainly I feel bad for the bride that she lost the man she wanted to spend the rest of her life with and his unborn child but is this the way to grieve?

I'm not going to say she needs to move on. . . we all need time to grieve and will move on in our own time but this seems excessive to me.

It seems like a strange thing to do. I'm sure this woman had all these dreams and plans and it wasn't, "I've always dreamed of being a widow." I personally can't see tarnishing her dream wedding by turning it into a legal battle, a hollow sad ceremony.

I showed B the story and he said that he told me that's exactly how he wants to get married - over his dead body. He really makes me laugh sometimes.

Personally, I would marry B but I'm okay with not getting married as well. There was a time in my life when I was obsessed with the idea but now that I've decided not to have kids it seems a lot less important.

I hope that the woman in the article finds some solace and is able to eventually get on with her life.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!