Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-01-30 - 12:22 a.m.

I've been thinking about sheep. As a noun it is both singular and plural. Therefore in adulthood sheep become a group entity yet in their youth, as lambs, they retain their individuality.

Is this true for all of us? Have we lost our individuality in our efforts to "fit in" to the "real" world? Sometimes I think we have.

When we give into our parents, spouses, friends, and employers plans for us aren't we compromising our own goals?

Today I told my mother that I have no intention of having children. Obviously she is disappointed but I'm not about to have a child just because she wants a grandchild.

She actually suggested once that she would be willing to raise the child. Right, and I don't think that the child would grow up to resent me at all!

Yes, that's exactly what I want - a lifetime of guilt and a child that hates me for my failings as the parent I never wanted to be.

When parents say, "I just want you to be happy," what they really mean is, "I just want you to make me happy by living the life I dreamed of."

Forgive me, but I'm making a selfish stand and retaining my dream of individuality. I'm doing it for the sheep.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!