Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-01-14 - 11:12 p.m.

So the BF drove off into the sunset (or actually sunrise since he left at 6 am) while I'm here watching the snow fall.

B had to take a van down to Florida for work but then he's flying out to California to see a friend and then finally stopping off in Vegas to check out the whole moving project. Things appear to be moving full steam ahead.

He's going to check out the apartments, try to get a few job interviews and just generally figure out whether its a go.

Because of the dog and cat our apartment choices are more limited but B seems to think that it won't be as difficult as it is here in New York since the demand for apartments is much lower there.

Here people will pay an arm and a kidney for a studio apartment the size of the walk in closets I see on many of the Vegas floorplans. I recently paid $1250/month for three small rooms that you could walk across in five steps...and that block was ghetto!

Another huge difference: security deposit. In New York one usually must pay a minimum one month's rent as security. On top of this there's the brokerage fee which is also one month's rent.

In some cases you have to pay the first and last months' rent plus one month security and brokerage fee!

Therefore on an average $1200/month apartment you will pay anywhere from $3600 to $4800 just to get in the door.

From what I've seen online, in Vegas one can pay as little as $200 security and there are incentives such as one month rent free.

Its crazy and I love it! It takes a lot of heat off in terms of finding a job the moment we arrive.

Speaking of which, I've been trying to make connections online that might help me find a job in Vegas through MonsterNetworking which is this service that allows you to post information about yourself and your interests as well as search other profiles in order to find people with common interests or job experience you'd like to tap into.

No connections made thus far but I'm trying. I've been luckier with DLand having met the fabulous Polly-Esther who has my dream job - writing - for a Las Vegas newspaper. She's been super helpful so far. It makes the move a little less scary that I'll at least know one person when I get there.

I guess I need to inform my current one that I may be leaving soon. Because my boss is so lovely and has always done right by me I really want to give her advance notice.

I've been hesitant to mention it before because frankly I just didn't think it was going to happen but now I'm starting to believe that it will - Call it divine inspiration or just plain optimism but I really do think its happening. (More about that next time)

Oh God, am I ready?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!