Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-01-06 - 12:27 p.m.

Thank you all for your support!

I'm feeling less gloomy about the future today. I do still need to look into cutting back expenses but I'm convinced that the future is not so grim.

I applied for a part-time job at a local coffee shop. It seemed like a good place to try waitressing since its mostly just beverages and finger foods - nothing too difficult to carry and no specials to memorize.

I hope they call me but I'm not sure they will. Not just because I have no waitressing experience but also because its been so long since I've filled out an application (instead of sending a resume) that I'm sure I made some mistakes.

For instance I left the section about interests/skills blank because none of my many computer and office skills seemed applicable - I also had to fight down the intense urge to put something ridiculous like water ballet or international duckpin bowling, and

that my skills include rocket science and dressing appropriately for all

occasions.

When asked what people normally write there, the guy I handed my application to said, "Something along the lines of good people skills, ability to work under pressure, maintaining a cheerful disposition even with difficult customers." In other words, good answers unlike my blank space.

Oh well. If I don't get a call I'll just try somewhere else.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!