Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-12-05 - 8:24 p.m.

Alex from the computer repair shop called and asked the eternal question, "I've got good news and bad news which do you want first."

I guess I took too long deliberating about what this decision says about my personality (optimist? pessimist? dithering idiot?) because he just jumped in with the bad news and...

So it turns out that I burned out my motherboard causing irreparable damage to my hard drive.

The good news is that (he thinks) he can still retrieve my data for a moderate price. (Is it grossly wrong that I asked him to retrieve my personal files too?)

I haven't had a cup of tea since the incident such is my guilt.

My dillemma, do I offer to pay for the damages I caused to company property and hope that they won't take me up on it...or maybe just offer to purchase a thumb drive for backing up my data...or do I just apologize and hope the incident isn't reflected in my Xmas bonus.

Chances being what they are, I may be moving to Las Vegas soon enough anyway (depending on the results of B's fact finding trip in the new year) so I won't have to live with the guilt for too long...

But I really do like my boss as a person and I hope to maintain my ties with her even after leaving her employ. Therefore I want to do right by her. Any advice?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!