Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-12-02 - 2:49 p.m.

So Thanksgiving�s over and what a whirlwhind it was. Four fun-filled days of food, friends and films�

First B & I went to see Master and Commander which wasn�t half bad and on Sunday, I took my mother to see Timeline which was. All bad, in fact. The title should be Timesuck because that�s exactly what it did, suck up two hours of my time on a story that was duller than watching paint dry.

In between that I watched two rentals: Willard, starring creepy king Crispin Glover, which I watched with B my indie-boy extraordinaire, and Agent Cody Banks, which I watched with my partner in criminally mainstream cinema, DancingQueen. Scoff if you will, but ACB was actually more intelligent than Timeline (that�s not saying much), at least it had the sense to play it campy.

Where Timeline asks us to believe that present day English of it time travelers would not only be easily understood but also widely spoken in 16th century France, ACB asks us to believe that the CIA trains and employs 15 year olds and hot chicks in spandex outfits as secret agents. Neither is actually believable but one insults my intelligence while the other pokes fun at itself.

Now Willard was an entirely different experience. Not exactly enjoyable but yet interesting. It you know nothing about it, Crispin Glover�s Willard is very similar to his Bartelby but less passive and more aggressive when he realizes he can control rats. I can say this from personal experience, do not watch this while eating. It is however an incredible spectacle seeing the hordes of rats - some of which were computer generated but others were real. Its both repulsive and fascinating to watch, much like Crispin himself.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!