Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-10-22 - 12:14 a.m.

This entry is overdue. I wrote it last Monday but then never got around to putting it up. Hopefully its not as stale as the bread I also forgot to put away.

I had a lovely three day weekend thanks to our old pal, Chris Columbus, and a visit from the equally lovely Mrs-Roboto.

Mrs-R relayed the fact that her

fellow Seattlites consider celebrating Columbus day "An East Coast thing" Possibly this is due

to the fact that Columbus discovered this coast and not that. (Is there

a Lewis & Clark day?)

I'll cop to the fact that it's a bogus holiday especially when

you consider the fact that America had already been "discovered" and inhabited by the Native Americans who also don't celebrate the day that the white man came calling, bags packed with all sorts of fun stuff like alcohol and the flu).

It is sort of strange that schools and banks would close for Columbus Day and not for Halloween, a holiday much more widely celebrated, but whenever I'm given a day off from work I find that reason enough to celebrate.

I celebrated my lost Monday by having a bang up good time out with Mrs-R and the DancingQueen. We took a cab to a cute little restaurant that is largely overlooked due to its close proximity to the MickeyD's.

I must say that though I feel bad for them that the restaurant hasn?t really taken off I enjoy the fact that their slower pace affords me the best service from an attentive but unobtrusive staff including frequent "extras" of complimentary hors d'oeuvres, glasses of port and butter cookies.

After our fantastic meal (including the best sangria ever) we walked about twenty steps over to the local pub where a gaggle of guys tried flirting with us with such lines as "Hey you" and "Are you dressed for Halloween or what?" Huh? That was a new one for me.

I spent about five minutes wondering about the cause of that pick up line, the chopsticks in my hair, the fur collar on DQ's sweater, that we were all dressed in black (but as Mrs-R pointed out - this is New York where black is all but mandatory)

Inside the bar we got a live sex show involving one bar slut and boy with a bad haircut . Bar Slut seemed thoroughly engrossed in BH, with long public displays of affection culminating and an impressive bump and grind routine.

Just when we thought we were witnessing true love in the making (pun not intended), and we had taken bets on how long until they hightailed it out of there and to the nearest hot sheet motel, BH went to the restroom. That's when Bar Slut spread herself like jam on every other guy in sight.

Drama being so much more interesting when you're not starring in it we stuck around to see what would happen.

Big fat nothing. BH came back, Bar Slut pried herself off one guy and stuck herself right back into BH's arms. He either didn't notice or didn't care because he took right up with the PDAs. I bet he chews ABC gum as well.

When none of our bets panned out, and we tired of conversing with some strange bald who recently dented his head in on a pipe, we headed home in what New Yorkers call car service and the rest of the country calls a cab.

I'll never forget the time I called information in another city and asked for the number of a car service and the operator gave me an auto repair shop. It was late at night and I guess the guy who owned the shop also lived there because he answered the phone.

I'm telling him I want a car, he's asking me what kind of car I have and what's wrong with it. t took at least 15 minutes of discussion before we each got our points across and I learn that car service is not a universal term.

He was a really nice guy though. He gave me the number of a cab company and told me if they wouldn't pick me up to call him back and he'd come pick me up himself in his tow truck.

Of course he could have been a serial killer I suppose but he seemed to be genuinely concerned for my welfare which was the first time I thought about leaving New York City permanently.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!