Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-09-05 - 2:00 p.m.

I've always considered myself to be a reasonably intelligent sensitive person. Well, apparently I'm not. I just got off the phone with a retired firefighter suffering from post traumatic stress disorder only to realize that I'd scheduled his appointment for September 11th.

Doh!

He was quite nice about it when I called back to reschedule but I still feel like a heel.

And how are you all today? Any good plans for the weekend?

Well, I'm going to a party at my boss' house in CT with all my co-workers. Now, I love my boss and her house is lovely but why do people persist in believing that just because we are forced to spend 40+ hours a week together in the office that we'd want to socialize afterwards.

The beauty of this week lay in the fact that by having Monday off, I was only going to see these people four days. Curses! Foiled again.

Some of my co-workers are fine people and some are NOT but either way, my weekends are just that, mine!

Gah! Now I'll be forced to make conversation with someone whose every comment is a complaint, a vapid generalization based on what "they" say. Such as "They say that American high schools are the worst in the world."

Really?! The entire country doesn't have a single worthwhile high school?

That's what they say.

Who are they?

People.

Right. Well, I didn't suppose it was talking dogs but I guess I expected too much when I wanted to know which people.

This is the same guy who complains about the American medical system and how bad it is compared to the socialized medicine of his homeland. Well, then why are you trying to get into a residency program here in the US?

Because it has the best training.

And why would you want to practice medicine here?

Because it has the best pay.

So our doctors are better trained and they get paid better to boot?! Sounds like you've got a good reason to complain about it.

Don't get me wrong - I have many complaints about the US including the cost of medicine and our educational system but I can't stand arguments that are so poorly constructed. If it were a house, the big bad wolf would have blown it down and eaten him already.

Hmmm...nothing cures feeling stupid like looking down your nose at someone else does it?!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!