Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-06-29 - 11:33 a.m.

Well today was to be the official opening of tar beach. Due to the recent heat wave, I bought a kiddie pool and just enough hose to reach from my kitchen sink to the roof. But the beach is closed due to lack of sun.

Perhaps it just wasn't meant to be. . . I will be spending my remaining summer weekends up in our rental house in fabulous Margretville, NY!

To those not in the know, Tar beach is a city phenomenon where one hauls beach chairs and accessories up on the roof of your home in order to soak up the sun. Many of the houses and apartment buildings have old fashioned tar paper roofs, hence the name, Tar beach. That's my lesson in Urban Studies 101.

Since the sun isn't cooperating with my plans, I have decided to hoof it out to the nail salon and get my feet treated so they look less hoof like.

I forgot to add a cocktail recipe but Mad about Movies saved the "Drink of the Day" - Caipirinha A perfect toast to my little corner of paradise. Sunset Park being Brooklyn's own Spanish Harlem. Caipirinha is a saucy little cocktail that'll whet your whistle and loosen your caboose. Ole!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!