Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-06-14 - 5:33 a.m.

Last night was my five year anniversary with B...or at least as close to one as we could figure out seeing as we've never celebrated an anniversary before.

When we first got together we had each had relationships gone bad of epic proportions.

In unspoken agreement it was understood that we weren't going to go through all the usual relationship rites, rituals & mumbo jumbo.

We were going to have the anti-relationship.

And so far its worked for us, but when I realized that it was going on five years together (and since we've decided against marriage) I suddenly felt like I wanted to celebrate this milestone.

So we chose a date (the day we met according to my journal) and had us an anniversary.

B surprised me by making reservations at the Central Park Boathouse for dinner and a gondola ride.

The lake was so beautiful and as waited for our table we sipped cocktails by the fireplace we watched the gondola come in.

The food was delicious: lump meat crabcake for appetizer, and for the entree soft shell crab for me and New York sirloin for him.

Unfortunately the heavens opened wide last night so we had to take a rain check on the gondola ride. Even so, it was a beautiful evening and I couldn't have been happier.

Score one for conventional rites of passage. Maybe we'll do this more often...say once a year.

Drink of the Day: the traditional toasting beverage is champagne . . . so we had Margaritas

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!