Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-06-07 - 6:21 p.m.

I've been slacking on the drinks of the day but hey even I can't booze it up every night without ending up a twelve-stepper.

But as Summer rolls around I found myself searching for a special "Beat the swelter" belter and I've decided that the Vodka Collins will be my seasonal drink of choice (think country lemonade with a kick).

Now I know that some people prefer the standard Tom Collins but try as I might, I am just not a gin drinking gal. Its flavor is a bit too biting for my taste. I prefer vodka which is subtler and more amenable to mixers. Except for Absolut which in my opinion is absolute swill (Sorry Sweden).

Anyhoo, the collins be it T or V is simple to mix and therefore are great as the party punch.

The ingredients are Vodka (or Gin), Lemon juice, superfine or powdered sugar, and soda water. You mix two parts vodka, one part lemon juice, and three parts soda water. Sugar it to taste. I like mine a little tart so I usually only use one tsp per serving. Garnish it with either maraschinos or orange slices.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!