Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-06-04 - 10:20 p.m.

So a little bird told me that I may be getting my mentee soon. As you may be aware, I've signed up to be a mentor to a girl in a foster care group home.

I've been waiting for my clearances and background checks to be completed. I've had my physical, my shots - all clear. I've been fingerprinted (which means if I want to commit crimes in the future I'll need to wear gloves) and just today two people phoned me to say they were called for a reference check.

According to one of these friends the interviewer specifically asked if I was sarcastic (Me? No! Well, maybe just a little but only in the right context, ie, not with small children or mothers) and if I seemed like I could be patient with a person who stuttered.

That one freaked me a little I have to admit. See, I have this bad habit of interrupting people when I get excited. Its a fault that I've always hated about myself so I'm going to have to be extra vigilant about waiting my turn. I would hate to make this poor girl feel worse by cutting her off mid-stutter.

But apparently my friends thought I'd handle it all beautifully. I've never heard such glowing things said about me before. It was quite gratifying.

Though I still haven't gotten the official word about when my mentoring will start, I'm starting to think about what we should do for our first meeting. It will take place in the group home and so it will undoubtedly be awkward. I'm thinking food would be a good ice breaker. Pizza is easy and most people like it.

But that's as far as I've gotten. Maybe I should bring a board game or a puzzle or something as a back up activity. I believe that the girl is 15, less than half my age, and for the life of me I haven't a clue what to do with a 15 year old. Any suggestions?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!