Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-05-22 - 9:54 a.m.

When I woke up this morning I was tired. I was cranky. I was late. Rush, rush, rush out the door, down the block to the subway.

I was thanking my lucky stars that at least I caught the express train and contemplating where I would get my morning coffee (the expensive caf� or the cheap cart) when the train came to a sudden and violent stop.

Minutes passed. I grumbled over this interference between me and my caffeine fix. Then I received an eye opener stronger than the blackest espresso.

�Okay, Passengers, we are going to evacuate this train. Please proceed to the first car in an orderly fashion.� (Words I'd pay to never here again) My first thought was "Aw shit followed by "If Ethel had gotten up on time, none of this would have happened" (a la Woody Woodpecker) I looked around and everyone seemed to have that same nervous smile pasted on.

Being way in the back of the train, time passed slowly as we waited to move out of our car. Finally, before we inched forward. Then a second announcement.

�We are going to move the train into the station to allow passengers to detrain.�

It was a mass exodus at Pacific Street as everyone pushed their way up the stairs to other trains. I squeezed onto the local train across the platform. As the M pulled away from the station, I saw about four police office swarm the first car.

And that was my morning commute. Oh, and I got my coffee from the pricey caf�, life�s too short for bad coffee.

Drink of the Day: $4 vanilla coffee

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!