Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-05-20 - 11:04 a.m.

It would appear that living above a schizophrenic will be interesting at the very least.

At 2 AM while I was engaged in that boring pastime we call sleep, my downstairs neighbor was busy receiving instructions from the voices in his head to begin hammering things into the ceiling.

I�ll admit that at first I was miffed, I even woke B up to share my annoyance. He grunted his consolation and then did his level best to better the situation by snoring as loudly as he could, bless his little black heart.

After elbowing him into silence, I lay there contemplating the kinds of things Bob the Builder could be constructing; a better mousetrap, an ark, Beelzebub�s new abode. The possibilities were endless.

That started me thinking about history's kooks like Noah: crazy but lucky, or divinely inspired? So if my downstairs neighbor is building a beacon for the aliens because he's crazy doesn't mean they won't come. After all, just because you're paranoid doesn't mean you're not being followed, does it?

Becoming bored with this, I tuned the clock radio to the local jazz station and found that my neighbor�s staccato accompaniment began to take on a certain quality: an avant garde drum solo. I was lulled into a semi-sleep state when suddenly the hammering stopped, then the sleep timer turned the radio off showing that exactly an hour had passed.

In the silence of the dark, I found myself missing my uncommon lullaby, for all of 5 seconds maybe, until I dropped off into dreamland.

Drink of the day: Harvey Wallbanger

PS Thanks again to everyone for your outpouring of support over my granddad. He did appear to have a mini-stroke but he is stable and we are hopeful that this will be just another hiccup on his way to recovery.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!