Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-04-19 - 7:15 a.m.

Please forgive my lack of updates of late. Besides my move (ugh! boxes, boxes everywhere) my dear old Grampa has been in the hospital.

He's had two surgeries so far, a triple bypass yesterday, and at least one more upcoming in a few weeks.

A word about my Grandfather: jovial. As far back as my memory goes I remember him laughing. He laughs more than anyone I know. He can find something to chuckle about even in the hardest of times.

Lately however he seemed depressed. Considering his age (85), his life (hard - he's buried a wife, a girlfriend and two of his children in the last 12 years) it wasn't hard to understand his sadness. But when a men I've always seen laughing over life's foibles talked about his readiness to leave it, it saddened me.

Worse still when this man who always seemed on the go, told me that he could no longer walk more than a block without becoming breathless, I was scared.

He finally yielded to the pressure from his family and saw a doctor and so this is the result: two heart operations and then a bowel surgery (large mass).

But the doctors are surprisingly hopeful. They think his chances are quite good, the bypass went well, and the cancer has not appeared to spread.

They say he'll be good as new. Stronger, faster. A veritable Six Million dollar man.

Which is good because, while he's said he's ready to die, I'm not ready for that yet.

I love you, Pop!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!