Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-04-09 - 10:29 p.m.

Answer: I don't know but I can tell you how many it takes to stop one navel piercing... 9

1 to want to get it

1 who says do it because I can't

3 who say do as you like, its your body

1 innocent bystander shocked and awed by the vehemence of the

3 who talk, cajole and badger the 1 until she explodes, "Enough already! I won't do it. Want to check my belly button to make sure?"

Naturally EthelA. was in the first group of three. I say anyone over 18 has a right to make their own decisions regarding thier bodies, themselves. But clearly I was in the minority.

So what is it that makes people think that they have the right, and more, the superior ability to live your life for you?

Its only human to make judgements; it comes from our increased self-awareness, and I'll agree that others can usually be more objective than I am myself. Usually being the operative word here. Advice is just that, you cannot force your will on another. Well, you can I suppose but don't be surprise when it blows up in your face.

Which is pretty much what happened at the bachelorette party (big easy style). My girl, DancinqQueen, wanted a navel ring much to the dismay of her sister, her friend, and her sister's friend (who invited herself along - I must add). The fact that DQ is nearly thirty years old didn't seem to matter to them. Ridiculousness ensued...but no piercings.

On other topics, as I mopped my bathroom ceiling for the third time today I looked forward to leaving this sweatbox at the end of the month...but as I look around at all my worldly possessions (some still boxed from my last move a mere 18 months ago) I realized that I own entirely too much shit to be moving this often. And as my current move is to yet another apartment (albeit a cheaper, yet roomier, one) it too will be temporary. Sigh!

Drink of the day: Fuzzy navel (who didn't see that coming?)

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!