Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-03-24 - 11:55 p.m.

What a weird Academy awards ceremony we had last night! I mean, who would have put the words Oscar winner on Marshall Mathers resume? Probably not the oddsmakers in Vegas (if they bothered with the song category) though betting on the Oscars is illegal even in Sin City. Eminem must be kicking himself now for missing his moment: an opportunity that will most likely never come again.

Which is not a slam against MM, whom I actually appreciate, but a matter of fact - even Meryl Streep has only won it twice, and Peter O'Toole had to settle for an honorary oscar. His speech was, of course, like old tyme hollywood's heydey of glamor and class. I just love his accent....call me a geezer girl - but I love the grampas - him, Jack, Sean Connery, and Steve, who did a smashing job of shaking things up because, well, awards shows are essentially boring... Shocking I know.

Of course, I think the shocker of the night was Roman Polanski's Best Director nod - proving once again that Hollywood is willing to turn a blind eye to your crimes of passion but apparently not your passion for politics (judging by the boos during Michael Moore's acceptance speech - although I did notice quite a few celebs such as Richard Gere smiling)

I thought Adrien Brody's speech was quite good considering his obvious awestruck shock. His comments on the war at the end were considerably restrained and so contained a certain class and charm that was absent in Moore's rant (even though I appreciated his thoughts as well) It was filled with such raw emotion that I actually squirmed in my seat a little. I wanted him to wrap it up before they cut him off again.

I was disappointed that Julianne Moore didn't win because I feel that she turned in the two best performances of the year but you had to figure that by splitting her own vote, she was going to cancel herself out. I actually feel that Nicole Kidman was entered in the wrong category. The Hours was such an ensemble piece that hers was truly a supporting role but this isn't the first time such a mistake has been made. I thought her speech was pretty good, especially the part about the importance of art and the recognition of it.

I for one, was happy to have the glitz and glamor and utter imbecility (and I say that with love) of the Oscars to brighten us after the grotesque gore of this ongoing war. Here's to the Golden days of Hollywood

Drink of the Day: Golden Daze

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!