Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-03-17 - 8:10 p.m.

Okay, I said I wasn't going to talk about the war but I couldn't leave that last entry up.

Listening to George W. Bush address the nation right now is making me physically ill. His delivery is pure Mr. Rogers and his words are anything but neighborly.

Americans are a peaceful people? Historically speaking, not really.

Defending a dying regime is suicide? Technically, no. Its still self-defense. Does GWB really think that his speech is going to persuade Iraqi's military forces to lay down their defenses and allow US troops to remove Saddam? No, I don't suppose he's that naive, but as propaganda to improve US image in the Middle East its pretty damn lame.

As for the "war crimes" that GWB says will be prosectued...well, who exactly does he expect to do the prosecuting if the UN isn't on board for this? Or is he planning on being the judge and jury for that as well?

As for weapons of mass destruction (is anyone else sick of that term?) how bad do you suppose our new "Mother of All Bombs" sounds to any country outside of the US? Hmmm...Iraq's got weapons that can't even come close to reaching our shores but we've got to defend ourselves with our new MOABs.

Hmmm... yeah, that's going to go over real well with the rest of the world. As big and as powerful as the US is, we can't afford to alienate the other nations this way. I fear that...well, lets just leave it at that. Excuse me now, I've got to rebury my head in the sand.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!