Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-02-06 - 9:06 p.m.

First, let me say thanks to all of you who sent words of encouragement and comfort. They were appreciated more than I can express. I've done a lot of thinking, ruminating even, about life's twists and turns.

This was the plan: Either I get into the NYC Teaching Fellows or I move to Vegas. As you know, I didn't get into the fellows program so...

Vegas Baby! Cross country road trip on the way. Three weeks of seeing the wonders of the US of A. Alright! Right? Uh. No.

That was the plan... but the plan failed. Turns out, we don't have enough money saved so moving is too great a financial risk even if we cut out the extended cross country trip. Killjoy!

But I found a profound quote that I'd like to share.

Mourning is not forgetting... It is an undoing. Every minute tie has to be untied and something permanent and valuable recovered and assimilated from the dust. -Margery Allingham

Okay, so I've mourned and now I'm moving on. Now that I'm not going to be a teacher and I'm not moving to Vegas, I am assessing my life and trying to make changes that will make me happier.

So I'm moving out of my cramped apartment in the swanky Slope into a spacious pad in grungier Sunset Park.

I'm bored with my job so I'm going to start looking for something more fulfilling - either working with children or in the non-profit sector for environmental concerns.

B and I also sat down and hammered out a new plan. The money we save on rent is going to "moving fund" and towards the end of the year we will reevaluate our plans.

But enough about me...How are you?

Drink of the Day: Good Mourning

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!