Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2005-09-24 - 8:43 p.m.

Hello Diaryland friends!

Sorry its taken so long to post. I'm planning on switching webhosts but I haven't gotten the new site up and running yet.

The trip was fabulous! I'm still developing photos so they will be forthcoming.

In the meantime, I'm shilling for donations again for my kids. See my grant proposal and make donations here!

Its going to be a fantastic project. Our (I'm team teaching this year - more on that later) literacy classes are going to be teaching first graders to read. The program is designed not only to boost their self esteem as readers, but also on the idea that one of the best ways to learn something is to teach it to someone else. (This is so true - I experienced it myself when I taught math last year!)

My students will be writing their very own children's books which they will be sharing with their "students." The school started this program last year with the teacher I'm paired with and it was extremely successful. Some of the worst students were completely changed by the experience. They took school seriously for the first time and became some of the best students in that class.

Those students will be coming in to see our classes to share their experience. We are also having a children's book author coming in to talk to the students as well.

I can't believe how great this team teaching experience has been so far. I was so upset in June when I got my program. I was dreading the idea of being in someone else's classroom. I envisioned it being very confining and that I'd be powerless, relegated to a sideline position.

When I met my counterparts (I'm working with two different teachers) they were so excited and enthusiastic that I started to feel more positive. Now that I've been working with them for the last 3 weeks I can't imagine being happier anywhere else!

I can't wait to start the cross age tutoring program. I'm so excited to see my kids get in there and work with the first graders. I can't believe my good fortune this year!

If you'd like to be a part of this please contribute even just $5.00 to our class here.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!