Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2005-03-13 - 9:49 a.m.

Thanks to Project Cicero, I now have a large box of assorted books for my classroom library. I was hoping to get a full class set of something but all the books that they had enough copies of were either too sophisticated (No way could my kids decipher Jonathan Swift's Gullivers Travels), too old (Red Badge of Courage) or too young and easy (Little House on the Prairie).

Still I've got the beginnings of a decent class library for independent reading.

I spent last night perusing them myself and wound up reading, "Angus, Thongs and Full Frontal Snogging" to make sure its appropriate for school. I think its okay. Its a bit chick-lit-ish but for high school girls that's to be expected. Much as I would love for them to get into Jane Austen, the Brontes, or other classics, I am hoping that if they find out the reading is a halfway enjoyable passtime then maybe they'll get into the classics at some point.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!