Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2005-03-05 - 10:07 p.m.

Last night I went with a co-worker to the Whiskey Bar (I don't know why) and it was such a weird mix of people. The ages ranged from early twenties to late sixties and of all possible permutations of ethnicities, aesthetics and orientations. . . which is cool, I like diversity - and the people watching was interesting. From the girls with prosthetic boobs trolling for men, to the dirty old troll who was strolling around in the unisex bathroom, it was a sociologists dream.

The strangeness continued. Some guy was crowding me at the bar to order mojitos. He had an accent so my coworker asked him where he was from. He answered very dramatically, "Yes, I'm a homosexual." Um...okay, I wasn't aware that was a nationality.

He continued to act strangely - as if somehow we offended him. He must've elbowed me in the back at least 10 times without once apologizing or even acknowledging it. His friend, who was quite nice, kept apologizing for him. Odder still, the friend tells me that they are both married with children, which makes me question what the hell was up with that guy.

As for the bar itself, the decor was trippy-chic with a psychedlic dance floor that changes color when you walk on it and ball bearing curtains. They had incense burning - nice at first but it slowly became overpowering and nauseating. The DJ was awful. I didn't mind the unisex status of the bathroom, but the ice cold stainless steel toilets were a turnoff! (In case you're wondering, I did put paper down on the seat first) All said and done I'd give it two and a half stars as a tourist attraction - but would I go there again? Not likely.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!