Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2005-01-19 - 7:43 p.m.

I took a personal day today to go to a funeral.

My friend's father died unexpectedly on Sunday. He was only 60 years old and had been in good health aside from a prior stroke several years ago.

It was very sad. I am so sorry that my friend has been inducted into what my family calls the Dead Parent Society. Its a club that no one wants to join but one that we all eventually enter. Some sooner than others.

His dad seemed like a really great guy. I had wanted to get to know him better - not the least reason being that he had known my father. He called my dad, "the frenchman" (although actually he was of Belgian descent and was born here) and I got a kick out of that.

Brett really liked him, too. Since neither of us has a father I guess we enjoy the company of other people's dads.

The cemetary we went to was the one that my dad is buried at so I stopped by his grave as well.

His tombstone says his name and then "Lover of God" which struck me sort of funny today. It sounds vaguely dirty doesn't it? Okay, maybe its just me.

In any case, to Mr. McCann wherever you are, Godspeed!

Life is eternal and love is immortal; And death is only a horizon, And a horizon is nothing save the limit of our sight.
--Rossiter W. Raymond


To my Dad,
Death ends a life, not a relationship.
--Jack Lemmon

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!