Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-12-11 - 10:24 a.m.

Today I am going to a craft fair...I know what you are thinking, "Boring, boring, full of cheesy refrigerator magnets, ubiquitous and unnecessary doily covered dolls that hide your toilet paper, and other assorted sundries made by people who have too much time on their hands."

But you would be wrong because this is no ordinary craft sale. These items were crafted by the hands of former prostitutes. And not just any prostitiutes - foreign prostitute from third world nations.

It is run by a charity organization that helps women off the street (and off their backs) and back into the sweatshops where they can be exploited in new and different ways.

No, no...I'm sorry, that was bad of me! There are no sweatshops involved.

The charity is truly a good thing - it teaches women skills such as sewing, knitting, etc.,and then helps to market and sell the goods ensuring a fair price.

I go every year and I must say that the items are really great. Two years ago I got pajamas from China and a tie-dyed wrap skirt from Africa.

Its great for gifts too. I especially love to tell the recipients where the lovingly crafted item comes from. Its such a convesation opener.

Well, I'm off...

Take care, brush your hair.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!