Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-11-12 - 9:04 p.m.

I watched (as millions of others did) the verdict reading of the Laci Peterson murder trial.

My heart goes out to both families. I can only imagine what this tragedy and ordeal has been like for them.

I hope that they will be able to find peace and a way to live with all that has happened.

But I have to say that I was shocked and appalled by the behavior of the crowds standing outside the courtroom mugging and smiling for the cameras.

There were even folks on their cell phones waving to the camera like, "Hey Ma, can you see me...I'm on TV!"

All I could think about was the devastated families inside the courthouse surrounded by this circus of idiots outside who were using their personal tragedy as a public spectacle.

Its truly frightening to me how folks act as soon as you shove a camera in front of them. This is why I hate "reality" TV so much.

Have we become so bemused with these so called "reality" celebrities that we honestly believe that we can all be famous as long as there is a camera around to capture us?

Yes, I'm happy that justice is being served on behalf of Laci and her unborn baby but it sickens me to see people outside the courthouse high fiving and carrying on a carnival atmosphere over what should be a somber and sad occasion

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!