Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-10-30 - 8:59 a.m.

Having finally read the Da Vinci Code I find myself joining in on the casting couch. I've read a bunch of rumors and opinions on the matter and here's my initial thoughts:


Sophie Neveu:
What about Julie Delpy? I'm of the opinion that it should be a French actress and many of the other choices being thrown around (such as Juliette Binoche and Isabelle Adjani) are a tad too old.

Although I like Audrey Tatou - she just doesn't strike me as right for this part with her little girl voice.

Delpy looks to be the right age and could look good as a redhead. Not to mention she can act - unlike Kate Beckinsale - ugh!

Other French actresses to be considered Virginie Ledoyen and Vanessa Paradis (After all, can Johnny Depp's choice be so wrong?)

Robert Langdon:
I disagree with the idea of casting George Clooney. I'm ambivalent about Russel Crowe - I think he's a credible choice and could be good in the role but he's just not what I picture Langdon to be.

My personal list would be: Edward Norton, Clive Owen, or Christian Bale.

Bezu Fache:
The one and only Jean Reno of course!

Lt. Collet:
Olivier Martinez

Teabing:
This is a tough one. Of course the dream list would include Sir Anthony Hopkins, Sir Ian McKellen, and Sir Michael Caine.

Somehow I just don't see any of them doing it (well maybe McKellen - who seems to be everywhere right now)

So my choices for Teabing are Tom Wilkinson or Jim Broadbent.

Aringarosa:
Another tough choice. I'd back Frank Langella or Max von Sydow.

Silas:
I think Paul Bettany could be good but I'm not sure he looks physically threatening enough.

This is one role that I think it might be good to cast an unknown in.

Sauniere:
Again, I feel this part would be best played by an actual French man. So my choice would be Michel Serrault

Other than that all I can say is... Please not Sean Connery! I love Connery but not in this role - or this movie in fact.


previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!