Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-08-18 - 2:11 p.m.

I have one final standardized test to pass this Saturday so that I'll be all set to teach Special Ed - English in September.

So I ordered a book to help me study and it isn't at all what I expected. I thought it would be full of practice exams, instead it is a grammar handbook.

I haven't studied grammar in sooooo long that I couldn't tell you what a gerund is or when you should use the nominative case, or parse a sentence if my life depended on it.

Grammar hasn't been at the forefront of my world - even in my creative writing classes. I just never considered it all that important. I mean, that's what editors are for, right?

Like most people, I had my pet peeves, like when people say "irregardless" or misuse the word of as in "I should of taken a nap," instead of "I should have..."

Whatever. I'm no grammar saint. I make mistakes, write run-on sentences, etc. As long as I used "who" and "whom" properly then I felt that I was doing well.

Now, I'm reading up on things and (although I'm bored - so very bored by it) I am learning. At least, I hope I am.

For one thing, another pet peeve of mine was when people would say, "I could care less" instead of "I couldn't care less."

Turns out they were right! Whaddya know? Years of my sneering down my nose was wasted. I was wrong. And you know what else?

I could care less. I still hate grammar.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!