Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-05-23 - 9:17 a.m.

Someone in my neighborhood has a rooster. That's right, a rooster. He does his rooster thing every morning at the crack o' dawn.

Damn rooster!

*************************

In other news...

I went on a tour of that middle school that offered me a job. A very cute and perky girl who's studying for her PhD showed me around. She said that she wouldn't want to work anywhere but middle school and there was no better middle school that this one.

I also found out that two girls I went to school with teach there. So I'd already know people.

Still - I'm not sure. The school is very overcrowded (they have classrooms set up in the entranceway) and I didn't get to see any actual special ed classes because apparently they were all out to lunch - conveniently - but I did get to see the cops come and take a boy away in hand cuffs!

After that, I got a call from the High School (which is 5 blocks from my apartment) to come in for an interview. That went really well. The Principal and Asst. Principal both seemed really nice and the secretary told me (confidentially) that she worked there for 16 years and although she'd never want to be a teacher she'd also never consider working someplace else.

Such devotion to jobs at these schools, no?

In any case, the AP invited me to come back on Tuesday and observe a few classes. So I decided to do that and then hopefully I'd have a better idea of what I want.

And then...

When I got home from the HS interview I had a message on my machine from a local elementary school asking to set up an interview for next Thursday.

Woo hoo - I am in DEMAND!

Now that I have multiple options, I feel both more at ease and less. Decision making has never been one of my strong points. But I guess its time to work on that.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!