Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-05-18 - 10:59 p.m.

All along this journey into teaching I pictured myself as an elementary teacher - preferably primary grades.

Then I talked to my brother's high school resource room teacher and started seeing things in a different light.

She told me that on the high school level the curriculum was more interesting, the workload was less (regents week twice a year, etc.), and if you had a student who really got your goat, you only had to suffer through them for that period of the day.

So I thought, okay, high school was an option. Elementary also. But definitely not middle school. That age is too awkward. Puberty, hormones, growing pains.

Today I went to a placement fair. There were no elementary schools represented. None of the high schools could tell me if they were hiring until they got their budgets in June.

On a whim I went and interviewed with a middle school for practice. It also happened to be the middle school my cousin teaches at.

They offered me a position.

Aargh! Not expecting that at all. It was a five minute interview for chrissakes!

I put them off by saying that I'd like to visit the school. I have a follow up appointment for this Friday. I talked to my cousin and she recommended I take it.

I talked to the high school teacher, she said to wait. Her supervisor would like to meet with me but she can't see me until next Tuesday. She might be able to help me secure a position in a high school.

I also had hoped to at least meet with an elementary school also. Just to see what options are out there for me.

So now what do I do? My head is reeling! I never imagined it would happen so fast...

I can't make a commitment and change it later. Once its made, its a done deal.

A two to three year commitment BUT more than that, this year is the first year that they've changed the special ed certificate from K-12 to K-6, 5-9, and 9-12.

Which means that whatever grade level I teach at will be the degree and permanent license I hold.

Its like:

Hello! Now that we've interviewed you for five minutes please make a decision that will affect the rest of your life, and hurry up will you?

So, how do I buy some time to make this decision? Anyone? Suggestions? Please!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!