Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-05-17 - 8:20 a.m.

My apologies for not updating sooner, and for not keeping up to date with your blogs. I thought about you all, but I was quite ill for the last two weeks with a sinus infection, lost my voice for a week and all.

I continued to work (I�m not normally one of those annoying martyr types but since I�m leaving in less than a month I felt guilty staying home) so naturally I was so exhausted that I was in bed most nights by 9 pm. I�m feeling quite better now. . . and I have news!

I�ve received my region assignment for teaching. I�ll be placed in Region 7 which encompasses Sunset Park, Bay Ridge, Bensonhurst, Coney Island and Staten Island.

For those of you not familiar with Brooklyn, these are pretty decent areas. In fact, I live in Sunset Park so I�m thrilled. Precious few fellows are placed in this region so I when I ranked it number 1 on my preferences I never thought I�d get it. Dare to dream!

My volunteering on Fridays is going well. I�m almost disappointed that I won�t be working there in the Fall because everyone I�ve met has been so friendly and helpful.

I say almost because I certainly won�t miss the 30 minute drive or 45 minute train ride to get there nor will I miss the neighborhood itself which is sketchy at best. I must say though that I have been having fun volunteering.

This last Friday I was with a fourth grade inclusion class (mostly general ed plus a few special ed kids).

I was doing a running record of the class (an assignment for training) where I right down a basic transcript of everything that transpires during the 30 � 40 minute class period. It was a writing class and the assignment was to write a story about being a shoe.

The cutest little boy (who I believe is one of the kids for special ed) leans over to me and whispers, �Are you writing everything down so you can tell the cops?� I nearly burst into laughter (though later I thought it was sad too). �No,� I told him, �I�m learning to be a teacher and I�m taking notes so I know what to do when I have my class.�

He seemed very impressed by this and decided to help me out. He gave me advice on everything from what subjects I should teach at what time to what rewards I should give my students for being good. He was so sweet and funny. When he finished telling me why I should let my kids have a free period after lunch he said, �Well, are you going to write all that down or what?�

Some of the other little boys seated near me also began giving advice. My favorite (this coming less than an hour after the entire class was reprimanded for their bad behavior at lunch) was, �Always love your kids even if they are really bad and stuff.� I really think I will.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!